Elkspedition Schedule Announced

posted Apr 27, 2016, 12:55 PM by David Lillard   [ updated Apr 27, 2016, 1:01 PM ]
Two paddlers, one river, 13 days in motion — some of it on bikes and feet, depending on water levels. Matt Kearns and Adam Swisher are starting at the Elk River's headwaters in the proposed Birthplace of Rivers National Monument area, traveling the 173-mile river to the Kanawha in Charleston. Here's the schedule (check back for updates).

Monday, May 16 – Camp Tea Creek Campground

Tuesday, May 17 – Hiking up Tea Creek Trail to Elk River headwaters on Gauley Mountain

Wednesday, May 18 – Hiking down Laurel Run to Elk River's start at Slatyfork

Thursday, May 19 – Hiking along Elk River Dries

Friday, May 20 – Biking to Bergoo

Saturday, May 21 – Biking to Webster Springs

Sunday, May 22 – Biking to Centralia

Monday, May 23 – Paddling Sutton Lake

Tuesday, May 24 – Layover in Sutton

Wednesday, May 25 - Paddling Elk River Water Trail below Sutton

Thursday, May 26 - Paddling Elk River Water Trail above Clay

Friday, May 27 - Paddling Elk River Water Trail below Clay

Saturday, May 28 - Paddling Elk River Water Trail above Clendenin

Sunday, May 29 – Paddling Elk River Water Trail below Clendenin

Monday, May 30 – "Homecoming" Event at Coonskin Park; continue to Kanawha River
Comments